Write and Give a Voice to Poverty – Blog Action Day ’08

October 15, 2008 at 12:06 pm | Posted in PSA | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Today, I’m dedicating this post to Blog Action Day. One of the things we have to remember is that, as writers, we have the ability to draw attention to important causes, inspire action, and demand change. Our words add to the collective voices, speaking out and raising awareness, calling for something be done to end domestic and world poverty.

I don’t want to get political because that’s not what this blog is about. Beyond the obvious failings of our government to be part of the solution instead of part of the problem, we must remember not to discount the power of people who care. Please visit this list of organizations who are actively working to end hunger and poverty around the world. Give and participate in any way you can. These people are fighting and speaking out to end poverty and they need our help. Today, more than 11,800 bloggers are making their voices heard in support of the fight against poverty.

There is wealth in this world—money and heart. By sharing resources and educating those who are less fortunate, we can end poverty, but it will take nations of people working together to make it happen.

Poverty is everyone’s problem. Think about that the next time you say, “I’m starving. What’s for dinner?”

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi Annette,

    I’m moved at your genuine feelings. Me, being from a humble background, knows what poverty is. I’s educated by my brother who’s a catholic priest, who is no more now. At last became a writer and blogging too. I face many people who beg in India, after reading stories of women hiring babies to beg I felt I shouldn’t give any coins. Since, this instinctive alms can’t solve a problem. Not really sure, if give some alms to someone whom I don’t know too. But, really contribute to halt this menace of children who couldn’t study. As education is the only way to free them poverty; poverty of ignorance is much more deadly one. Their smiles have no meaning otherwise. Their true happiness is not in eating a little leftovers, but a pat when he gets equal respect working in a factory or organisatin as a literate.

    This dignity of being a contributer to not only himself or herself but to the society at large is what gives them greatest happiness.

    I feel writers like you who are so passionate about all this can make a difference.
    I want to dedicate my writing life to inculcate in people (the rich) that what matters is to help the person to realise the potential within. the near dead lack of self-respect, the lack of zeal to live, the lack of dreams, the lack of purpose for him for for his near and dear ones – this is real help we can all give the poor.
    Sorry…I shouldn’t used this space for my rantings. but felt like writing you and in way finding some gumption and courage to take my voice for this hapless souls.
    Thanks for the post!
    Solomon

  2. Hi I’m actually pretty touched by people that are dealing with poverty because I don’t understand what had went wrong with the financial business but whatever did i hope that we can fix it because if we don’t then we will all suffer from poverty so instead of just ignoring it then we need to realize it so if some one ask for a hand then give it to them, if the ask for a shoulder to lean on then let them lean. dont just stand there and act like there’s nothing going on. I also get real mad when people complain about their life because they don’t realize that there are other places that have it worse than them but they don’t understand.

  3. Hi Annette,

    I’m moved at your genuine feelings. Me, being from a humble background, knows what poverty is. I’s educated by my brother who’s a catholic priest, who is no more now. At last became a writer and blogging too. I face many people who beg in India, after reading stories of women hiring babies to beg I felt I shouldn’t give any coins. Since, this instinctive alms can’t solve a problem. Not really sure, if give some alms to someone whom I don’t know too. But, really contribute to halt this menace of children who couldn’t study. As education is the only way to free them poverty; poverty of ignorance is much more deadly one. Their smiles have no meaning otherwise. Their true happiness is not in eating a little leftovers, but a pat when he gets equal respect working in a factory or organisatin as a literate.

    This dignity of being a contributer to not only himself or herself but to the society at large is what gives them greatest happiness.

    I feel writers like you who are so passionate about all this can make a difference.
    I want to dedicate my writing life to inculcate in people (the rich) that what matters is to help the person to realise the potential within. the near dead lack of self-respect, the lack of zeal to live, the lack of dreams, the lack of purpose for him for for his near and dear ones – this is real help we can all give the poor.
    Sorry…I shouldn’t used this space for my rantings. but felt like writing you and in way finding some gumption and courage to take my voice for this hapless souls.
    Thanks for the post!
    Solomon


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

